Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Rituals’

Why Dementia is Known as Witchcraft in Africa and What’s Being Done About It

Watch the Teaser Video Below

Thursday Dec. 30th, 2021 – 2pm EST, 1pm CST, 12pm MST, 11am PST & 7pm London GMT, 9pm South Africa SAST, and on the 31st at 6am in Australia AEDT

Watch the Video Interview Below

People around the world will learn of the African culture and how their beliefs there are very different most other parts of the globe.  This is essential to know in order to raise awareness and educate the public in Africa, as Berrie Holtzhausen will tell us today. Most of us understand the disease is the same all over the globe, but the challenges can be very different and difficult to overcome if cultural beliefs aren’t incorporated. 

We will learn how influencing these beliefs is happening through Berrie and his work through Alzheimer Dementia Namibia by shifting mindsets of old beliefs to heart-sets recognizing the humanness of each and every person.  Learn how you can help too.

Click Below to Listen to the Radio Show Below

Subscribe and Check Out All Our Shows All are Archived

Be Our Next Guest. Email us at Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio

Register for a Live Demo Tour of Dementia Map on Zoom!

ARTS & DEMENTIA EDUCATIONAL PANEL:

Dementia and the Arts is an Educational Panel where all levels of artists and all types are welcome. Our goal is to elevate panelists work and ability to create beauty in many forms. They will share examples of various types of art they participate in, how, and why they started, what they have learned, and what they personally get out of making art. Panelists, do not have to attend all sessions.

Anyone living with dementia interested in participating, please reach out to Lori La Bey via email, or Private message her on FaceBook

As you will see all conversations are comfortable, casual, and fascinating. We have so much to learn from one another. All recordings can be found on Alzheimer’s Speaks YouTube Playlist.

Our Experts: Mark Timmons, Dr Lonni Schicker, Cate Booth Lau, Christine Thelker, Karen Creekmoore, Laurie Scherrer, and Truthful Loving Kindness. Conversation facilitated by Lori La Bey founder of Alzheimer’s Speaks.

Today our panelists living with dementia discuss how changes in the weather can impact their daily lives and more. We also discuss the effects of storms, the moon, solar flares, and eclipses. Hear how light effects their attitude and routines. Also hear their thoughts on the terms like Sundowning, Rundowning, and Brain Fatigue.

For a Complete List of Dementia Chats Videos – Click Here

Dementia Chats is a series of video conversations where we talk with the true experts on dementia, those living with a diagnosis. Lori La Bey, founder of Alzheimer’s Speaks facilitates a conversation and is amazed by every conversation what she learns about life with dementia. She encourages everyone not only to watch these videos, but to include those living with dementia in conversations and to listen closely to their insights. They know dementia better than anyone.

Contact Lori La Bey with any questions you have:

Website: https://www.alzheimersspeaks.com/dementia-chats-webinar

Email: DementiaChats@AlzheimersSpeaks.com

Upcoming Public Events Lori La Bey Will Be At:

Lori La Bey Can Help Your Organization Switch To Virtual Presentations For Staff Trainings, Family Support, Perspective Clients and Support Gatherings.

See What Others Have Say About Lori La Bey

I want to echo the thanks and appreciation of my colleagues… Your presentations were movingly authentic, fully engaging and wonderfully informative. Thank you for all that you are doing, and all that you’ve done for us!

Carla Koehl, Director of Community RelationsArtis Senior Living of Lexington

 “Feedback from the conference planning committee and our leadership team was extremely positive. Many attendees commented that she was one of the best speakers they had heard.” 

Pat Sylvia, Director of Education & Member Development LeadingAge WA

For More Testimonial


Find A Memory Café In Your Area

2 FREE SERVICE OFFERS BELOW

We would love to here your thoughts and comments on this tip.

                                            Diana Pierce and Lori La Bey

Downloadable Tips Below

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is when-caring-takes-courage-book-cover.jpg
Gains Alzheimer's Trail - Premiere on Alzheimer's Speaks YouTube Channel

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: