Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘photography’

Legacy & Learning Documenting The Dementia Journey in “My Father’s Shirts”

Thursday May 12th – 2pm EST, 1pm CST, 12pm MST, 11am PST & 7pm London GMT, 9pm South Africa SAST, and on the May 13th at 6am in Australia AEDT

Watch the Video Interview Below

Our Host, Lori La Bey will be talking with George Slade is a writer and photographer based in the Twin Cities. He is the Author of “My Father’s Shirts” which documents his Fathers journey with Dementia as well as George’s journey along-side him. He also works for our friends at Gentle Transitions, the twin cities original senior move manager.

Listen to the Radio Show – Click Below

Contact George Slade

Email

Phone Text  651-227-9549 

Please note your name and why you are calling/texting

Website: https://georgeslade.photo/

All Radio Shows are Archived

Contact Lori La Bey To Be Our Next Guest

Register for a Live Demo Tour of Dementia Map on Zoom!

Dementia and the Arts is an Educational Panel where all levels of artists and all types are welcome. Our goal is to elevate panelists work and ability to create beauty in many forms. They will share examples of various types of art they participate in, how, and why they started, what they have learned, and what they personally get out of making art. Panelists, do not have to attend all sessions.

As you will see from the sample video above, conversations are comfortable, casual, and fascinating. We have so much to learn from one another. All recordings will be prerecorded and published to Alzheimer’s Speaks YouTube channel with a specific playlist channel for easy access. Each episode will be pushed out on Alzheimer’s Speaks social media channels as well.

Anyone living with dementia interested in participating, please reach out to Lori La Bey via email, or Private message her on FaceBook

Subscribe to Alzheimer’s Speaks YouTube To Receive All Our Videos

Dementia Chats is a series of video conversations where we talk with the true experts on dementia, those living with a diagnosis. Lori La Bey, founder of Alzheimer’s Speaks facilitates a conversation and is amazed by every conversation what she learns about life with dementia. She encourages everyone not only to watch these videos, but to include those living with dementia in conversations and to listen closely to their insights. They know dementia better than anyone.

For a Complete List of Dementia Chats Videos – Click Here

Lori La Bey Can Help Your Organization Switch To Virtual Presentations For Staff Trainings, Family Support, Perspective Clients and Support Gatherings.

Upcoming Public Events Lori La Bey Will Be At:

Talk To Lori La Bey About Having A Screening & Talk Back of “A Timeless Love”

Prior Title Name Was “His Neighbor Phil”

See What Others Have Say About Lori La Bey

I want to echo the thanks and appreciation of my colleagues… Your presentations were movingly authentic, fully engaging and wonderfully informative. Thank you for all that you are doing, and all that you’ve done for us!

Carla Koehl, Director of Community RelationsArtis Senior Living of Lexington

 “Feedback from the conference planning committee and our leadership team was extremely positive. Many attendees commented that she was one of the best speakers they had heard.” 

Pat Sylvia, Director of Education & Member Development LeadingAge WA

For More Testimonial


Find A Memory Café In Your Area

2 FREE SERVICE OFFERS BELOW

We would love to here your thoughts and comments on this tip.

                                            Diana Pierce and Lori La Bey
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is when-caring-takes-courage-book-cover.jpg
Gains Alzheimer's Trail - Premiere on Alzheimer's Speaks YouTube Channel

Read Full Post »

“A World Without Dis-Ease

Through Finding Your Soul Purpose”

Hope you can join us live!

If not, the show will be archived to listen to later


Read Full Post »

Friendship The Art of the Practice – Book Review    

By Lori La Bey of Senior Lifestyle Trends



Friendship the Art of the Practice

Last Friday I went to the book launch of two friends Nancy Chakrin and Laurie Ellis-Young, at the Marsh, in Minnetonka.  Their book “FRIENDSHIP the Art of the Practice,” is absolutely incredible!  It is a celebration of Friendship at its finest.  The photography is magical and a gift in and of itself.  Nancy Chakrin has captured Laurie Ellis-Young and others in exquisite yoga poses in interesting locations throughout the world.  Beautiful quotes which reflect friendship, are positioned a long side each photograph.  All this for under $10.00. 

This is a fabulous gift which has the quality of a high-priced table top book, only in a smaller more intimate style.  If you are looking for a great way to tell a friend just how much they mean to you, you won’t go wrong purchasing this book.  I bought several that evening and I encourage you to do the same.  As a society we tend not to tell people how much they mean to us.  Be proactive and make your friends day special by giving them the book “Friendship the Art of the Practice.”

FRIENSHIP The Art of the Practice

By Laurie Ellis-Young & Nancy Chakrin

Hard Cover with dust jacket, 80 Pages, $9.95 

This collection of dazzling photos captures friends practicing yoga in spectacular settings around the world. The photographs are coupled with uplifting quotes celebrating the sometimes simple and sometimes complex connections that form from the cherished practice of friendship.

Links to purchase the book:

On Alzheimer’s Speaks Resource site  http://www.alzheimersspeaks.com/idx/links/topicDetails.asp?id=169&words=friendship

or go directly to the Tristan Publishers site at:  http://www.tristanpublishing.com/books/bookDetail.asp?modelID=58

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: