Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘New Housing Concept’

Symbiosia: A New Housing Concept on Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio

Tuesday – Oct 12th, 2021 –2pm EDT, 1pm CDT, 12pm MDT, 11am PDT & 7pm London BST, 8pm South Africa SAST, and on the 13th at 4am in Australia AEST

Today we are talking with Esther Wiskerke who is the visionary and founder of Symbiosia, which is a new concept in community living. Esther has over 14 years experience in managing a dementia service that specialized in meeting the needs of people who experience complex Behavioral Psychological Symptoms through non-pharmaceutical means.

Esther has a MSc in Advanced Care in Dementia, and her care home related research was published.  She is a care home and corporate trainer on a variety of topics, and is a member of the International Think Tank on Dementia, Sexuality, and Human Rights.

Driven by her unconventional walk of life and extensive professional experience, one night, Esther just decided to make a change and Symbiosia was born.  

In addition to Esther, we are so lucky to have, five colleagues who support her project so we can get their insights and perspectives.

Jas Bassi, has experienced first-hand how dementia took over her mom and how she as a daughter quickly had to step up, and step in with everything she had!

Diane Bray, is the Dean at Solent University who Esther is working with to establish a partnership to further develop her concept by engaging with students and colleagues.

Stuart McArthur, represents Robert McAlpine, who is UK’s leading civil engineering company supporting the development of their Proof of Concept.

Marc Sansom, supports the project utilizing his vast Global Knowledge Exchange network and has given Esther the opportunity to speak at SALUS’ conference coming up Oct. 11-14th which we will here a bit more about later.

Geoff Southern,  represents the IBI Group and is giving Symbiosia

‘a visual’ by leading the architectural design.

Website:  https://linktr.ee/Symbiosia

Website:  https://healthycitydesign2019.salus.global/conference-show/healthy-city-design-2019

Contact Lori La Bey  with questions, branding needs or visit www.AlzheimersSpeaks.com

Be Our Next Guest. Email us at Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio

All Shows are Archived

ARTS & DEMENTIA EDUCATIONAL PANEL: Insights from the Artists

After receiving multiple requests to formally continue to highlight the artwork of those living with dementia, The Arts & Dementia Educational Panel will formally launch this November. All levels of artists and all types of art are welcome. Our goal is to elevate panelists work and ability to create beauty in many forms. They will share examples of various types of art they participate in, how, and why they started, what they have learned, and what they personally get out of making art. Panelists, do not have to attend all sessions.

Anyone living with dementia interested in participating, please reach out to Lori La Bey via email, or Private message her on FaceBook

We Will Meet Quarterly on The 2nd Tuesdays

  • November 9th, 2021
  • February 8th, 2022
  • May 10th, 2022
  • August 9th, 2022
  • November 8th, 2022

We Start Recording at: 11am ET, 10am CT, 9am MT, 8am PT, 4pm London, 5:00pm SAST South Africa, and on the following day at 1:00pm AEST Australia

Below is an Example of What the ARTS & DEMENTIA PANEL Will Explore & Share

As you will see from the sample video above, conversations are comfortable, casual, and fascinating. We have so much to learn from one another. All recordings will be prerecorded and published to Alzheimer’s Speaks YouTube channel with a specific playlist channel for easy access. Each episode will be pushed out on Alzheimer’s Speaks social media channels as well.

Anyone living with dementia interested in participating in the ARTS & DEMENTIA EDUCATIONAL PANEL please reach out to:

Lori La Bey via email, or on FaceBook

Dementia Chats is a series of video conversations where we talk with the true experts on dementia, those living with a diagnosis. Lori La Bey, founder of Alzheimer’s Speaks facilitates a conversation and is amazed by every conversation what she learns about life with dementia. She encourages everyone not only to watch these videos, but to include those living with dementia in conversations and to listen closely to their insights. They know dementia better than anyone.

For a Complete List of Dementia Chats Videos – Click Here

Register for a Live Demo Tour of Dementia Map on Zoom!

Upcoming Public Events Lori La Bey Will Be At:

Lori La Bey Can Help Your Organization Switch To Virtual Presentations For Staff Trainings, Family Support, Perspective Clients and Support Gatherings.

Plymouth International Virtual Dementia Conference

Day 1: Wednesday 27 October | 13:00–16:30Day

2: Wednesday 3 November | 13:00–16:30Day

3: Wednesday 10 November | 13:00–16:30

More Information to Come

See What Others Have Say About Lori La Bey

I want to echo the thanks and appreciation of my colleagues… Your presentations were movingly authentic, fully engaging and wonderfully informative. Thank you for all that you are doing, and all that you’ve done for us!

Carla Koehl, Director of Community RelationsArtis Senior Living of Lexington

 “Feedback from the conference planning committee and our leadership team was extremely positive. Many attendees commented that she was one of the best speakers they had heard.” 

Pat Sylvia, Director of Education & Member Development LeadingAge WA

For More Testimonial


Find A Memory Café In Your Area

2 FREE SERVICE OFFERS BELOW

We would love to here your thoughts and comments on this tip.

                                            Diana Pierce and Lori La Bey

Downloadable Tips Below

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is when-caring-takes-courage-book-cover.jpg
Gains Alzheimer's Trail - Premiere on Alzheimer's Speaks YouTube Channel

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: