Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Gerontologist & Dementia Behavior Specialist’

Dementia Map Global Resource Directory – Connecting Families & Professionals to Services, Products, Tools, & Events

Monday April 25th – 2pm EST, 1pm CST, 12pm MST, 11am PST & 7pm London GMT, 9pm South Africa SAST, and on the April 26th at 6am in Australia AEDT

Watch the Video Interview Below

Today’s show is going to be a bit different. After Lori La Bey introduces her guests, she will be passing her role as interviewer over to Eilon Caspi, as we dive into Dementia Map Global Resource Directory.

Eilon Caspi is a colleague and friend whom I’ve had the pleasure of working with over the years. Eilon is a Gerontologist & an Assistant Research Professor at the University of Connecticut.  He also has cofacilitated Dementia chats with me for years.  Eilon recently published a wonderful book called the Understanding and Preventing Harmful Interactions Between Residents with Dementia. 

Dave Wiederrich and I, our cofounders of Dementia Map.  In addition, he is also the founder and operator of Memory Cafe Directory, which he started in 2016 when he realized how difficult it was to locate on. Memory Cafe Directory now has over 1,000 listings in five countries.

For anyone who is new to Alzheimer’s Speaks here is a brief background on Loir La Bey.  Her Mother lived with dementia for 30 years and this journey changed both their lives. Like many Lori was a frustrated daughter looking for services, products, tools and support and she found very little. So, Lori decided to do something about it and in 2009, started Alzheimer’s Speaks an advocacy group and media outlet making an international impact providing education and support for those dealing with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias.

Listen to the Show – Click Below

Contact Dementia Map

Website   https://www.dementiamap.com/

Email – Dave Wiederrich 

Email –  Lori La Bey

Facebook   https://www.facebook.com/DemMapGRD

Twitter   https://twitter.com/demmapgrd

LinkedIn   https://www.linkedin.com/company/dementia-map/

Contact Eilon Caspi

Website   http://dementiabehaviorconsulting.com/

Email

Twitter   https://twitter.com/eiloncaspi

LinkedIn   https://www.linkedin.com/in/eiloncaspi/

Book

Be Our Next Guest. Email us at Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio

All Shows are Archived

Dementia and the Arts is an Educational Panel where all levels of artists and all types are welcome. Our goal is to elevate panelists work and ability to create beauty in many forms. They will share examples of various types of art they participate in, how, and why they started, what they have learned, and what they personally get out of making art. Panelists, do not have to attend all sessions.

As you will see from the sample video above, conversations are comfortable, casual, and fascinating. We have so much to learn from one another. All recordings will be prerecorded and published to Alzheimer’s Speaks YouTube channel with a specific playlist channel for easy access. Each episode will be pushed out on Alzheimer’s Speaks social media channels as well.

Anyone living with dementia interested in participating, please reach out to Lori La Bey via email, or Private message her on FaceBook

Subscribe to Alzheimer’s Speaks YouTube To Receive All Our Videos

Register for a Live Demo Tour of Dementia Map on Zoom!

Dementia Chats is a series of video conversations where we talk with the true experts on dementia, those living with a diagnosis. Lori La Bey, founder of Alzheimer’s Speaks facilitates a conversation and is amazed by every conversation what she learns about life with dementia. She encourages everyone not only to watch these videos, but to include those living with dementia in conversations and to listen closely to their insights. They know dementia better than anyone.

For a Complete List of Dementia Chats Videos – Click Here

Lori La Bey Can Help Your Organization Switch To Virtual Presentations For Staff Trainings, Family Support, Perspective Clients and Support Gatherings.

Upcoming Public Events Lori La Bey Will Be At:

See What Others Have Say About Lori La Bey

I want to echo the thanks and appreciation of my colleagues… Your presentations were movingly authentic, fully engaging and wonderfully informative. Thank you for all that you are doing, and all that you’ve done for us!

Carla Koehl, Director of Community RelationsArtis Senior Living of Lexington

 “Feedback from the conference planning committee and our leadership team was extremely positive. Many attendees commented that she was one of the best speakers they had heard.” 

Pat Sylvia, Director of Education & Member Development LeadingAge WA

For More Testimonial


Find A Memory Café In Your Area

2 FREE SERVICE OFFERS BELOW

We would love to here your thoughts and comments on this tip.

                                            Diana Pierce and Lori La Bey

Downloadable Tips Below

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is when-caring-takes-courage-book-cover.jpg
Gains Alzheimer's Trail - Premiere on Alzheimer's Speaks YouTube Channel

Read Full Post »

500 FREE Resources to Help with Resident to Resident Aggression – Dementia

eilon_blog_nameClick Above to go to Eilon’s Blog

Eilon Caspi picTwo years ago in April, Eilon Caspi, a Gerontologist & Dementia Behavior Specialist, launched a blog called: The Center for Prevention of Aggression Between Residents with Dementia.   Since then he has posted over 500 free resources on the center. The goal of the center is to raise awareness and improve understanding regarding the root causes of prevalent but under-recognized behaviors.  In addition, it is his hope that with this information people will be able to apply strategies which could help prevent and de-escalate unwanted reactions, we like to label “behaviors.

Eilon also helps out on “Dementia Chats,” a webinar Alzheimer’s Speaks provides FREE of charge to those who want to ask questions and have a discuss with our panel of experts who are diagnosed and living with dementia.  The webinars are on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month from  3pm to 4pm EST, 2pm to 3pm CST, 1pm to 2pm MST, 12pm to 1pm PST.  For more information on Dementia Chats CLICK HERETo go directly to the webinar, when live Click Here.

eilon_blog_name

For additional information on Dementia and Caregiving please check out our website below.

Alz Speaks multi logo_091113

Need a Speaker on Dementia, Alzheimer’s or Caregiving;

Check out all of the programs Lori La Bey has below.

ad_for_speaking_my_contact_info

 

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: