Posts Tagged ‘Erica Hornthal’

Dance, Movement & Dementia

Dance, Movement & Dementia

Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio

Tuesday  Feb 27th, 2018 at

2pm EST, 1pm CST, 12pm MST,11am PST and 7pm London


Lori La Bey, host of Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio chats with Erica Hornthal, founder and president of Chicago Dance Therapy. Erica offers programs to a wide variety of groups, including adult day services, where she has worked with people diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and other degenerative brain disorders like Parkinson’s.  Erica recently added dance/movement therapy as an antidote to the pervasive bullying and violence occurring in our schools. This conversation is interesting, fun and thought provoking. 

Enjoy and Pass Along.

Contact Erica Hornthal:             

Phone:  847-848-0697                        Website


Looking for a Speaker?

See what LeadingAge has to say about Lori La Bey.

 “Feedback from the conference planning committee and our leadership team was extremely positive. 

Many attendees commented that she was one of the best speakers they had heard.” 

Pat Sylvia, Director of Education & Member Development LeadingAge Washington

For More Testimonials

Meet Lori La Bey in March

Click Below to Download the Tips

Push Research Forward – Join the A-List


Read Full Post »

Dementia and Dance Therapy? 

What’s the Connection…

Listen and Learn!

This was a fantastic interview with Erica Hornthal, LCPC, BC-DMT of North Shore Dance Therapy.  I think you will learn a lot and will be able to apply techniques to your own situation.  She teaches us not to be afraid of trying new things.   Granted, a professional Dance Therapists has more skills then us common folk, but there is much we can do to impact and improve the lives of people with dementia at our level as well.

Today we discussed:

      What is dance/movement therapy?

      What is the difference between dance therapy and physical therapy?

      Why is dance therapy important for individuals with Alzheimer’s?

What happens during a movement therapy session?

How can dance therapy be used with a family and/or caregivers?

The RESULTS can be AMAZING!  You should give these techniques a try.

Please reach out to Erica Hornthal

     North Shore Dance Therapy (Deerfield, IL)




Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: