Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Children’s book on dementia’

Why It’s Important to Get Families that Care Comfortable to Get Counseling

Dr. Linda Ganzenmuller, a psychologist who works with seniors and their families, talks with Lori La Bey. Linda has started a series of books and presentations designed to help families work together to design their personal-best plan for handling any difficult situation.  Today we will talk about her book “Everyday is Funday with Grandma Stella” as well as the different types of loss and grief families experience when dealing with a dementia diagnosis.

To Contact Doctor Linda Ganzenmuller

Email

Website

LinkedIn

Instagram and Twitter DoctorLindaG

For Information on Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio, Playlists, & More Click Here

Contact Us To Be Our Next Guest

All Radio Shows are Archived

A BIG THANK YOU to Dr. Lakelyn Hogan Eichenberger with Home Instead who invited me on her live video chat to discuss early diagnosis and why it’s so important. So many people worry about changes in cognition from individuals who are sensing a change in their own lives, to family and friends. This chat will give you some ideas of common changes people question, what could be causing the changes, who to go see if you are concerned, to how to approach the conversation with a loved one, and even how to respond to someone who is telling you they are worried about cognitive changes.

Please Share & Pass This Great Conversation Onto Others

When Dementia Takes a Back Seat To Other Health Issues Plus Examples of Misperceptions, Hallucinations, Delusions and Misunderstandings On Dementia Chats™ Today our experts living with dementia give us great examples of situations where dementia can be ignored, or not acknowledged when other health issues pop up. They also give us great examples of the differences between hallucinations, delusions, misunderstandings and misperceptions.

Watch Additional Videos or Download a PDF to Easily Access Titles & Links

A big thank you to our experts who gave their time to share their insights: Craig Hanke, Truthful Loving Kindness, Dr. Jennifer Bute, Christine Thelker, Karen Creekmoore, and Lonni Schicker

Learn About Becoming A Dementia Chats Experts

Contact Dementia Chats

Contact Lori La Bey

Take A Peak Below At Our FREE Educational Resources Go To Our Website Now

Register for a Live Demo Tour of Dementia Map on Zoom!

Lori La Bey Can Help Your Organization For Staff Trainings, Family Support, Perspective Clients and Support Gatherings.

Upcoming Public Events Lori La Bey

See What Others Have Say About Lori La Bey

I want to echo the thanks and appreciation of my colleagues… Your presentations were movingly authentic, fully engaging and wonderfully informative. Thank you for all that you are doing, and all that you’ve done for us!

Carla Koehl, Director of Community RelationsArtis Senior Living of Lexington

 “Feedback from the conference planning committee and our leadership team was extremely positive. Many attendees commented that she was one of the best speakers they had heard.” 

Pat Sylvia, Director of Education & Member Development LeadingAge WA

For More Testimonial

Looking For support?

Read Full Post »

New Children’s Book On Dementia

Thursday – June 4th, 2020 – 2pm EST, 1pm CST, 12pm MST, 11am PST & 6pm London, 8pm South Africa and on the 5th at 5am in Australia AET

Feel free to call in and join the conversation at (323) 870-4602

Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio – shifting dementia care from crisis to comfort around the world one episode at a time by raising all voices and delivering sounds news, not just sound bites since 2011.

Today our host Lori La Bey talks with Author, Paulette Sharkey who wrote a beautiful children’s book called “A Doll for Grandma.”  We will discuss why she felt her book was important to write and where her inspiration came from.  We will also learn what her hopes for the book were and what type of response she is getting from people.

Contact Paulette Sharkey

Website:  www.PauletteSharkey.com

Twitter: @pbsharkey

Purchase the Book:  A Doll for Grandma

Support Alzheimer’s Speaks work by Downloading the Song “Clarion Call” by the Mark Arneson Band featuring Mia Dorr on your favorite msuic APP.

Watch Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio Covid 19 Speacial

Click Video Interview Below

FREE SERVICE OFFER BELOW

Dementia Chats – Those Living with Dementia Talk Openly

Click Below To Watch Dementia Quick Tip #11

Click Below To Watch Dementia Quick Tip #10

You can find more tips on our YouTube Channel

We would love to here your thoughts and comments on these tips.

Lori La Bey Can Help Your Organization Switch To Virtual Presentations For Staff Trainings, Family Support, Perspective Clients and Support Gatherings.

See What Others Have Say About Lori La Bey

I want to echo the thanks and appreciation of my colleagues… Your presentations were movingly authentic, fully engaging and wonderfully informative. Thank you for all that you are doing, and all that you’ve done for us!

Carla Koehl, Director of Community RelationsArtis Senior Living of Lexington

 “Feedback from the conference planning committee and our leadership team was extremely positive. Many attendees commented that she was one of the best speakers they had heard.” 

Pat Sylvia, Director of Education & Member Development LeadingAge WA

For More Testimonial

                                            Diana Pierce and Lori La Bey

Downloadable Tips Below

Find A Memory Café In Your Area

Push Dementia Forward – Participate!

Read Full Post »

Join Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio and Max Wallack Author Of The Amazing Children’s Book On Dementia

Join Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio

 

and Max Wallack

Max Wallcke cropped 2

Author Of The Amazing Children’s Book On Dementia

 

Click here to go to listen to the radio interview

max_book_cover

A Story of Love and Respect

Well you all know by now how much I love my job because I’m always excited about my guests; but today is extra special.  We are so lucky to have with us Max Wallack who is a young man who is walking his talk with dementia.  Max’s journey with his grandmother who had Alzheimer’s has set this man on a path where he is making unbelievable strides.  He is a researcher, started an organization called Puzzle to Remember and now has co-authored a book called “Why did Grandma Put Her Underwear In The Refrigerator?”

Max’s co-author, Carolyn Given will join our discussion,along with Emma Richman.  I hope you can join us as well.

Max Can be reached at:  

PuzzlesToRemember@gmail.com

Click Here To Order the book

Click Here To Here The Conversation

For more resources check out our website:

alz_spkslogofromwebsite_083112

Read Full Post »

Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio Live Today

At 11am EST 10am CST  8am PST

Come and loin the conversation or just listen in.  You can call in to ask at question or make a comment at (714) 364-4757

or use the chat box when you sign in with facebook. Today we will be talking about a new Children’s book about Dementia and Virtual Dementia Tours…What are they, how do they work and why are they so powerful!

Here is the link

Hope you can make it.  If not you can always listen later.  All shows are archived.

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: