Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for the ‘Supporting Caregivers’ Category

Listen Live or Listen at Your Convenience Tuesday – November 29th, 2022 – 2pm EST, 1pm CST, 12pm MST, 11am PST & 7pm London GMT, 9pm South Africa SAST, and on the 30th at 6am in Australia AEDT

Today Lori La Bey will talk with Jane Dwinell who is an RN, Unitarian Universalist minister, and an author who lives in Vermont. She and her husband, Sky Yardley, chronicled his years living with dementia in their blog, and then in a book, Alzheimer’s Canyon.

Join the conversation as we learn about Jane and Sky’s journey. 

Feel free to call in and ask you questions or make a comment at (323) 870-4602.

More About the Authors:

Sky Yardley & Jane Dwinell were together for 36 years. They raised two children, for many years had a small farm, and retired in their fifties to travel and do volunteer work. They both had successful careers—Sky as a family mediator, and Jane as an RN, freelance writer, and Unitarian Universalist minister. In 1992, Jane authored Birth Stories: Mystery, Power and Creation. As an avocation together they designed and built seven houses and renovated two others.

Sky was diagnosed with “probable early stage Alzheimer’s disease” in the summer of 2016. He had been showing signs of memory loss since 2012, most significantly since 2015. He was 66 when he was diagnosed. Jane was 62. Sky died in 2021, after chronicling with Jane his five-year decline from this fatal disease, the sixth-leading cause of death in the US.

Contact Author Jane Dwinell

Facebook

Purchase Book

Let Your Ideas be Heard Around the World!

Presales of Lori La Bey’s Book is Now Available:

PreSales Available – A Great Holiday Gift For Anyone At Any Age

Lori La Bey and Alzheimer’s Speaks Can Help Your Organization With Staff Trainings, Family Support, Perspective Clients, and Support Gatherings.

Read Full Post »

Listen Live or Listen at Your Convenience Thursday – November 17th, 2022 – 2pm EST, 1pm CST, 12pm MST, 11am PST & 7pm London GMT, 9pm South Africa SAST, and on the 18th at 6am in Australia AEDT

Live Today – Call In And Ask Your Questions or Make a Comment (323) 870-4602

Grief And The Caring Journey

Our Host, Lori La Bey talks with Jaye Tee the author of 13 Months: Diary of a Caregiver’s Grief.  Jaye has spent over 20 years in the field of mental health and addiction services as a licensed therapist, supervisor, and instructor. In her memoir, she openly shares her struggles, turmoil, and path to healing as a way to support others dealing with grief after the dementia caregiving comes to an end.

Contact Jaye Tee

Website

Email

Twitter   @AuthorJayeTee

Facebook

Let Your Ideas be Heard Around the World!

Lori La Bey and Alzheimer’s Speaks Can Help Your Organization With Staff Trainings, Family Support, Perspective Clients, and Support Gatherings.

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: