A Dementia Book Every Family & Professional Needs

A Dementia  Book

Every Family & Professional Needs

max_book_cover

Here are my thoughts after reading the book. 

Keep in mind I had tears running down my face as I read the book, not because it was sad or scary, but because it explained dementia in such a beautiful and simple fashion.  I still remember forty years ago at the age of 13, when my great aunt forgot my name and who I was.  I was devastated.  No one, not even my mother had a good explanation for what was happening.

All I heard over and over was,

“That’s what happens when people grow old Lori.  They go senile.  You didn’t do anything wrong.  It’s just what happens.”

It’s Time Celebration

fireworks

This book shows and explains to the reader what is happening and why.  It answers the questions of what do we do now?   It shows the reader how to interact with someone who has been diagnosed in a loving and respectful fashion.  It teaches us not to loose our relationship to illness, but to adapt life to the imperfections we all have.

Consider me a raving fan who will shout from the mountain tops the need for this book to go viral.  Although written as a children’s book, don’t miss the lessons it offers because you are an adult.  This book is for everyone!

What a perfect gift for a family dealing with the disease.  Even for those recently diagnosed, what a beautiful story it tells of love, compassion and inclusion.

Kudos to Max Wallack and Carolyn Given  for this fantastic book which paints such a beautiful picture for us about what person centered care is truly about.  Please know it is an honor for me, to tell others about such a wonderful book that I truly feel with help millions of people who are struggling to cope with this disease.

Keep in mind 50% of the proceeds of this book will go for

Alzheimer’s Research and the care of Alzheimer’s Patients.

Order your book today from Amazon

alz_spkslogofromwebsite_083112

For More Resources Click a Above

7 Replies to “A Dementia Book Every Family & Professional Needs”

  1. Excellent review, Lori. I tweeted it. Children are the best for asking questions and getting us to be clear about the subject. Sounds like a great book for anyone who wants to know more about what happens with Alzheimer’s and dementia.

  2. If you have a family member or spouse who is suffering from dementia, the book can be very helpful, because it places extra emphasis on “person-centered” care. It also offers useful insights on how to “adapt life to the imperfections” that a person already has.

  3. I have just read the book to and was crying too! We lived with my Mom for about three years to help care for her and there were really no good books for kids who actually live with a loved one with Alzheimer’s. All the other books on the subject have a child who visits their loved one with dementia and does not have to handle the day to day caregiving and how it effects them. I will write a full review in a few days, but I love this book and just bought five copies so that any families that come to our programs and have kids as caregivers can have a copy.

    1. Hi Katie
      Thank you so much for taking the time to write and for purchasing the book. It is fabulous. I think it will be life changing for many. I see you have a blog on dementia. I’d love to offer you a free listing int he Alzheimer’s Speaks resource directory at http://www.AlzheimersSpeaks.com I will send you info on how to in put your blog if you care to join us.

      Lori

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.